Tyre Pressue

Jun 16, 2009
Visit site
Grreting to you all, just a quick question that I am struggling to come to terms with.......

My caravan is challenger 450/5 1992 model, the hand book states that the PSI should be 42, on the tyre it states 51psi.

Which figure should I be following ???? currently they are inflated to 42psi but look a little flat, I have checked the pressure daily and it is maintaining 42 so there is no small puncture, I expect this is obvious to some but its really foxing me as Im new to caravaning and would dread a "flat" on route to a site........

Many Thanks

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
Hi Sean

I'm not a tyre expert but as I understand it the figure on the sidewall of the tyre is the maximum pressure for that tyre.

I'd follow the figure quoted in the caravan handbook provided that the tyres fitted to your caravan are the same size as the ones in the handbook instructions.

The tyre pressures are given on the metal identification plate on our caravan.

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
What it says on the tyre is the maximum pressure that applies to the tyre when at its full load carrying capacity. The lower pressure given in the handbook suggests that the tyre is not carrying the maximum load and is a compromise in the interest of uniform wear across the tread, thus optimising the lifespan, and a slightly better ride (doesn't shake the crockery about as much). However, few caravan tyres ever need to be replaced because of wear, usually because of old age. Therefore, increasing the pressure, although it will increase wear in the middle of the tread, is quite in order and can benefit stability. In other words, increasing the pressure will do no harm.

Jun 16, 2009
Visit site
Gents, I thankyou.

If i were to slightly increase the pressure to around 45psi it shouldnt do any harm and hopefully it will take away the look of being "flat",