Unhitched caravan

Aug 6, 2016
Visit site
As embarrising as this is and ive been towing for over 30 years and last year my brand new caravan became unhitched from the car and i was very lucky it came off and went into the field and the tow hitch went into the mud and came to a stop, and it came out only with the help of the mover, ive been put off by this big time as im into my 70s now,, but as the van i not yet a year old i want to use it again asap, can any one suggest a way that i can double check that the van is on the car without trying to lift the hitch off the car once its conected, its a alco tow hitch, thanks in advance,

Oct 12, 2013
Visit site
Very very lucky , hitch up the van to the car put everything in place lock wise then drop your jockey wheel and wind your jockey wheel down as much as you can to the ground , if the car starts to lift and then you know it is locked in place and it should not come off.

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
Nimrod said:
As embarrising as this is and ive been towing for over 30 years and last year my brand new caravan became unhitched from the car and i was very lucky it came off and went into the field and the tow hitch went into the mud and came to a stop, and it came out only with the help of the mover, ive been put off by this big time as im into my 70s now,, but as the van i not yet a year old i want to use it again asap, can any one suggest a way that i can double check that the van is on the car without trying to lift the hitch off the car once its conected, its a alco tow hitch, thanks in advance,

The standard approach is to lower the hitch onto the ball until the handle clicks into place and shows the green marker. Then wind nose wheel down until you see the nose wheel lift the cars suspension. On soft ground I use a cheap plastic cutting board so that the nose wheel doesn’t sink into the soft ground.