A matter of age.

Feb 19, 2012
Visit site
Hi all, I am relatively new to Caravanning, only started again in 2009. I wanted to see if I enjoyed it as much as I did when my Daughter was little, so I went to a dealers and look at the bargain section I didn’t want to spend a fortune on something I might not like doing anymore. I came across a 1992 2 birth Lunar Clubman 475-2CK It had everything the newer caravans had at the fraction of the cost, I did notices that the offside panel around the kitchen area had a few little holes in it due to corrosion, it was nothing in the scheme of thing it was just down to age. So I had it all checked out including a damp test and bought it. After getting use to towing again, I took the plunge and me and the wife took off for a week to try it out. Having joined the Caravan Club we book in to one of their sites, and that is where it all went downhill. I felt like we had just landed on an Allan planet, the looks and stairs we got when we drove though the park to find our spot was unbelievable, it was only later I realised it was the caravan they were looking at. Sorry if this upset anyone but it did upset us that’s for sure, we were treated by some not all, like we had the pelage. Now I was going to sell the caravan as soon as we got home and forget it altogether, but the time we spent in the caravan we loved, so we decided we would buy a more up to date caravan, but all the time I was thinking why should I, what is wrong with the one we have, shore it is old but it does the same as all the other caravans. So we talk about it again and decided to keep it and sod them all. I am no longer a member of the caravan club I feel very bitter at the way we were treated, I now just go to sites that are privately owned and where the people welcome you no matter how old your caravan is.