Caravan servicing?

Feb 25, 2017
Visit site
As a reasonably competent mechanic, I am planning on servicing the mechanical parts of our caravan (brakes, towing mech, steadies etc. myself, and getting a mobile mech. to complete the habitation checks. Do other people do this? On the face of it, it would save a lot of money and our local dealer also pointed out he was "always very busy", and expensive, A lot of the checks are very basic ie. tyre pressures, so why pay somebody to do this? Items like the fridge, toilet, heater etc. seem to be common user items and again relatively straightforward. Am I missing something apart from a very expensive stamp in a book? Thx Simon.

Aug 23, 2009
Visit site
I see you are looking at a 2013 Lunar which I assume is still under manufacturers warranty. Most seem to be 10 years these days. This being the case you will need to use a NCC approved servicer if you are to maintain the warranty. With all the tails of woo out there are you prepared to invalidate the warranty? If the van has not been fully serviced in accordance with the warranty conditions then I would advise walking away from the deal as well.

A van with a fully stamped book and an A frame full of service stickers will sell better in the long run as well.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Legally you are only required to ensure a caravan is roadworthy if it's being towed, and by the sound of it you are prepared to attempt the necessary maintenance on the running gear yourself. Caravan running gear rarely wears out, its more often age and the corrosion that months of non use can allow to compromise brakes.

But caravans tend to have this big boxy thing bolted onto the chassis, and sadly the box is usually much less durable than the chassis.