Fog lights

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Time for another discussion. What are the members feelings on the modern curse, fog lights? These must be the most miss-used items fitted to modern cars. Rear fog lights are a good idea, front ones are generally useless. Now most drivers don't seem to know that fog lights should only be used in fog or poor visibility. This is because the beam is low and wide, and so reduces glare. Incidentaly, the old yellow ones only reduced glare because they gave out less light, the colour had nothing to do with it. Therefore, fog lights should only be used with side lights, not with dipped headlights. A local motorist recendly received a £100 fine for using fog lights when not needed. One extra thing, isn't it surprising how many people will spend a lot of mony on new car, yet won't buy a hands free kit for their phone. I have one which has an audio amp and remote mic, and actually works better than it does without. Although as a radio amateur I can use a mic whilst driving, for sheer convenience, ignoring the safety angle, I always use a remote mic.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Couldn't agree more about the misuse of fog lights.On the X-Trail this is not helped by the stupid design of the fog light switch.You can have front fog or front and rear fog but not rear fog on its own ! When you turn off the main lights it cleverly takes the switch for the front and rear fogs to the off position BUT leaves the front fog switch in the ON position thus ensuring that the next time you switch on the side/main lights the front fog comes on without you realising !!(apart from the tiny warning light) It seems totally illogical to have the nifty auto switch off of the rear when it is a fineable offence to drive with the front fogs on etc etc.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site