Freezer problem

Jul 18, 2017
Visit site
Our Ice King chest deep freezer is specifically for outbuildings and has performed flawlessly for the past 8 years. However today OH went get some fish out of it and noticed that it was defrosting. It looked fine when she put some food in last Wednesday, but did not check the lights as they are at the back and out of sight. Luckily most of the meat was still frozen or partially defrosted. A lot of the veg was defrosted but very cold to the touch. Luckily grandson is the manager at the local pub so we were able to use their walk in deep freeze.

I am not a refrigeration expert and on reading the owner's manual it is indicating a fault with the freezer and although a layman I suspect that the compressor has probably given up the ghost which probably means buying a new deep freeze taking into account the cost of a repair and what we originally paid for the freezer. I expect a new compressor will cost and arm and leg plus of course labour costs etc.

If you have a freezer that is suitable for outbuildings perhaps you can offer a suggestion on purchasing a new freezer?

Nov 30, 2022
Visit site
Sounds like its history! At least you don't appear to have lost too much.
Amazing how these things always pack up at the most inopportune time isn't it?

You are wise to ask about a suitable freezer as many "ordinary" freezers designed to be used inside a house will not function correctly in the much lower temperatures common in an unheated outhouse. I am afraid thats as far as my knowledge goes.

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
We have a chest freezer in the garage. We are now on the second one. We only changed because the first one looked tatty.